Daily Archives: January 24, 2012

Gratitude

As we are constantly on the move in this society, physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually. And we are “connecting” via the emails, texts, phone calls, social networks, and when there’s time, face to face. According to some brief online research, the average adult is awake for 15 hours and 45 minutes a day, 7 hours of that time is spent using a proliferation of technology. That is 45%. I am not sure where the research for this article came from, it is based on the UK population, but here is the link: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1304266/We-spend-7-hours-day-using-technology-computers-TV-lives.html Regardless of the source, it seems realistic based on my observations. But seriously… how crazy is that, 7 hours a day with technology!?!?

Some aspects of our jobs and our days, we cannot change due to our responsibilities, but when we have the choice to use technology or human contact, the choice should be simple! We need human contact! I try to spend the weekends away from the computer, phone, tablet as much as possible. However, in those times when we are using technology for pleasure, perhaps we can reconsider our uses…. I have been reading a lot more inspirational blogs from social networking sites and getting ideas on how to live my life in a more green way, by repurposing. I have found that the most enjoyable moments connecting with technology are reading about other’s stories of inspiration and really listening to what people have to say (and in congruence with my post from yesterday, following the 5th agreement of “be skeptical, but listen”). As we really listen to what other individuals have to say we can process our own thoughts, beliefs, and truths.

The first quote, I stumbled across, via my friend, Amber:

We can never bring anything to us unless we are grateful for what we have. In fact, if somebody was completely and utterly grateful for everything, they would never have to ask for anything, because it would be given to them before they even asked. That is the power of Gratitude.
-The Secret Daily Teachings by Rhonda Byrne

I think it is really important to remember to consider gratitude. We are all at different places in our lives and this can change from moment to moment. But, we can always be grateful for all we have and for what we do not have. It can be very easy to take for granted a kiss good morning from a loved one or a beautiful sunrise or a safe drive to work or a brief, pleasant interaction with a stranger, but these are things we should be grateful for each day. In the first hour or so of being awake these are things I was immediately grateful for, beyond that I was grateful for my home, my career, my love, my family, the children I see everyday, the list could go on for miles! I am even grateful for my compost pile! Think about your day, hour by hour and really see, what are the simple most basic things you could be grateful for?

This next quote I had to dig a little for. My friend Bridget had posted it a while ago and I knew I wanted to use it in a blog.

This was found written on the wall in Mother Teresa’s home for children in Calcutta:

  • People are often unreasonable, irrational, and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
  • If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives. Be kind anyway.
  • If you are successful, you will win some unfaithful friends and some genuine enemies. Succeed anyway.
  • If you are honest and sincere people may deceive you. Be honest and sincere anyway.
  • What you spend years creating, others could destroy overnight. Create anyway.
  • If you find serenity and happiness, some may be jealous. Be happy anyway.
  • The good you do today, will often be forgotten. Do good anyway.
  • Give the best you have, and it will never be enough. Give your best anyway.
  • In the final analysis, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.

Along with being grateful, we must all find peace with who we are and move past obstacles that may be in our path, that do not have our good or the greatest good in mind. Mother Teresa is an amazing inspiration and  her words make so much sense with the trend of my blog and my purpose here. When I was younger I really tried to live by this Mother Teresa quote, as it is extremely motivational, but I don’t think I always did so with the greatest good in my methods, though it was present in my heart. It was difficult for me to understand exactly what this was at the time and to broaden my belief from being situational to lifestyle. I needed something more to elaborate on how to do this in a manner that worked for me and for the universe positively. Over the past few years, I have worked on making the 4 agreements (now the fifth as well with myself)- this and my work (lots of body and energy work) opened me up to the greater good. Layering on top of that is being gracious for all that is in this life. It is not as simple as, “a few books and a couple quotes can change your life”. Or is it? That is for you to decide for your own self.

At the end of the day, technology is a big part of our lives these days. We can choose how we are using technology. For me, limiting my interaction with technology on the weekend and evenings to increase my human interaction is important. I am trying to use technology for the purposes of becoming the best self I can be by listening and interacting through technology which serves as a springboard for deepening my thought and causing me to reflect on my journey to the whole best self, fully connected to the universe.

Today, I must give credit to two good friends for finding these two quotes, their inspiration and yielding deeper reflection. Bridget and Amber, you are both amazing and I am glad to know you! ❤

Now its time for a little human interaction for me!